Wednesday, 5 November 2014

Midleton CBS 3-12 Dungarvan CBS 1-11 - Harty Cup Round 3

Midleton CBS secured their second win of the Harty Cup campaign at a sunny Ardmore as second half strikes from John Looney and Jack McDonnell preserved their unbeaten status against Dungarvan CBS.

In a topsy turvy contest, a couple of shrewd tactical moves helped the Cork school come from two points back in the third quarter. Gary Leahy dropped out around midfield with substitutes Ed Leahy and Cillian Treacy also curtailing Dungarvan’s forward momentum. All six forwards and both midfielders recorded scores. Leahy, Looney and McDonnell caused trouble all afternoon. For Dungarvan, 15 year old corner forward Sean Crotty snapped five stunning points and put them in a good position at the start of the second period. Michael Cronin, Carthach Barry and Glen Waters also made an impression.

The red and white raced seven points away after 19 minutes. Captain Gary Leahy pulled to the net in the first minute following an initial burst from Josh Beausang. Kevin O’Sullivan raided three points (two frees) with Billy Dunne, Cillian Broderick and John Looney also supplying singles. Dungarvan picked themselves up from a rusty start. Four Mike Kearns frees and a hat trick of Crotty points left them trailing by just three at the break (1-8 to 0-8).

Dungarvan stayed on the front foot at the start of the second half but struck four wides in a row. On 35 minutes, Darragh Lyons launched a free from inside his own half and the ball hopped to the back of the net (1-8 to 1-8). A pair of points from the unerring Crotty deservedly put them in the driving seat for the very first time. The pace of the contest increased and Midleton reacted to the challenge. Brendan McCarthy and Jack McDonnell levelled. The changes were making a difference as Dungarvan started to struggle up front against the extra defender.

With twelve minutes to go, Gary Leahy’s crossfield ball dropped behind the Dungarvan defence and John Looney was alert to whip first time past Sean Murray (2-10 to 1-10). The three time champions never looked back from there. Josh Beausang teed up McDonnell for their third green flag on 54 minutes as they ran out seven point winners.

Midleton top the standings in Group 4 while Dungarvan slumped to their second defeat in three outings.

Scorers for Midleton CBS: J Looney, G Leahy, J McDonnell 1-1 each; K O’Sullivan 0-4 (3fs); J Beausang (f), B Dunne, C Broderick, B McCarthy, C Treacy 0-1 each.

Scorers for Dungarvan CBS: S Crotty 0-5; M Kearns 0-4 (4fs); D Lyons 1-0; P Curran 0-2.

Midleton CBS: S O’Flynn; B Cashman, I Cahill, C Beausang; S Smith, L Dineen, S O’Connor; C Broderick, B McCarthy; K O’Sullivan, J McDonnell, J Looney; B Dunne, G Leahy, J Beausang.

Subs: E Leahy for O’Connor; C Treacy for O’Sullivan; J Sherlock for Cashman.

Dungarvan CBS: S Murray; TJ Veale, M Cronin, C Whelan; C Barry, D Lyons, J Curran; A Donnelly, G Waters; M Culloo, M Phelan, M Kearns; J Lacey, P Curran, S Crotty.

Subs: E Crotty for Kearns; D Booth for Lacey; A Kirwan for J Curran. 
Referee: M O’Brien (Waterford)

No comments:

Post a Comment